About ICAS

ICAS are independent skills-based assessments with a competition element. ICAS are developed annually for primary and secondary school students in the subject areas of Digital Technologies, English, Mathematics, Science, Writing.

ICAS are produced by the Educational Assessment Australia (EAA), an education group of UNSW Global Pty Limited, a not-for-profit provider of education, training and advisory services and a wholly owned enterprise of the University of New South Wales (UNSW).

ICAS form the largest independent assessment program for schools in Australia, New Zealand, Asia, India and the Pacific region with more than two million entries annually.

Largest independent

assessment program for schools

Australia, New Zealand, Asia, India and the Pacific region

More than 2 millions

entires annually

Critical thinking, reasoning and problem solving are essential higher order skills for success in school as well as in the wider community. The materials presented in ICAS reflect this importance, providing the opportunity for students to perform a range of tasks using these and other skills. ICAS tests cater for a wide range of student abilities using contexts that stimulate students interest and engage their attention.

The content of ICAS tests is not based on any particular school curriculum, but on skills essential for success in various subjects at school and beyond. ICAS results provide valuable diagnostic information that can be used to assess student strengths and weaknesses and to assist with the preparation of appropriate learning experiences.

Students at all levels of competency across Malaysia benefit from participation in ICAS.